1 Followers 0 Following

Conor Walsh

0 from 0 references

Conor Walsh



member since Apr 1 2015


My skills

I've worked in the hospitality and service industries across Asia, Australia and Europe for the last 4 years. This has ranged from budget backpacker hoss to 4 star luxury resorts and I have gained experience In pretty much every aspect of hospitality, from front of house to online promotion and marketing.

More recently, I have branched out into freelance travel writing and design.

Languages Spoken

No Language Set

Full CV / Resume


Sept 2008-May 2011 Limerick Institute of Technology
Graduated with a Bachelor of Science in Music Technology and Production.

Employment Experience

Urban Garden Hos, Lisbon, Portugal Jan ’15-
Multiple positions
Renovating the existing hos space and building a brand new facility.
Planning and running successful events with guests (incl. budgets and promotion).
Photography for online marketing and promotion.
Planning and preparing nightly dinners for up to 80 guests.
Providing a unique experience in the most competitive city in the world for hoss.

Freycinet Lodge, Tasmania, Aus Aug-Nov ‘14
Position: Head Barman
Preparing drinks for Resort bar, restaurant and functions, incl. house cocktails.
Running drinks to tables.
Hosting Whiskey tasting with local Tasmanian boutique whiskeys and cuisine.
Cleaning duties.
Staff training, co-ordinating with F + B supervisors.
Cashing up each night.

Rare Steakhouse, Melbourne, Aus Jun-Aug ‘14
Position: Bar/Restaurant Allrounder
Running food and drinks to various sections.
Taking F + B orders from tables.
Assisting the barman in dessert and cocktail prep.
Clearing and resetting whole sections.
Cleaning duties.

Everythang Otres Guesthouse, Otres Beach, Cambodia June- Nov ‘13
Position: Bar & Guesthouse staff
Checking in guests
Waiting tables
Making & serving drinks
Cleaning duties
Balancing the till at the end of the night.

Spicy Tao Backpackers, Koh Tao, Thailand Nov-Dec ‘13/ Aug-Oct ‘12
Position: Receptionist, Tour Guide
Checking in and looking after guests
General maintenance of hos
Cooking and serving hos meals
Leading snorkel trips and treks
Booking transport for guests’ onward travel

Aurora Kakadu Resort, Kakadu National Park, Aus Feb-July ‘12
Position: Bar Staff, Public Areas Cleaner
All bar/restaurant duties
Staff training
Cleaning resort grounds- toilets, bar area, pool area, laundry
Grounds Maintenance

Coral Resort Bakery, Coral Bay, Aus Sept ‘11-Jan ‘12
Position: Server, Barista
Serving customers
Making Coffee/hot drinks
Cleaning bakery, shop front and seating area
Stock rotation
Processing orders and deliveries
Preparing made to order sandwiches

Northside Tavern, Merredin, Aus Jul -Aug ‘11
Bar and Restaurant Staff
Bottleshop Attendant
TAB Operator

Millennium Theatre, Limerick, Ireland Sept ‘09-May ‘11
Position: Student Intern
Assistant Sound and Light Technician
Front of House
Stewarding and ticket collection
Wine Bar staff
Preparation and set up for functions

Freelance Experience

As well as running a personal blog charting my experiences working around the world and other random musings, called Escaping The Mainstream, I have written for a of travel sites, including the very popular South East Asia Backpacker.

I have also recently branched out to design, building and designing the site for Yebo Swaziland, a Swedish charity. These and more can be viewed on the Media page on Escaping The Mainstream.

Further Qualifications and Skills

Certified PADI Advanced Open Water Diver.
TEFL Cert. in teaching English as second language.
Can carry 3 plates.
Experience as a barista.
Used to working in sections, with covers.

As well as a keen interest in music, movies and reading, I enjoy many outdoor/water sports, particularly swimming, diving, trekking and cycling. I also love to travel, having done so in many parts of Europe, Southeast Asia and Australia. This has opened me up to dealing with people from varied cultures and backgrounds.

About Me

Originally from Ireland, I have worked, lived and traveled across South East Asia, Europe and Australia. In that time I have had some of the most incredible experiences I could only have dreamed of growing up in a small suburb in Ireland. While I'm not traveling and working, I'm usually at the cinema or sat on a beach reading a book. And whenever possible, I try to get under water, doing some scuba diving.

i'm pretty much an easy going, laid back guy. i love sharing stories and trading jokes with people, over a beer or a deck of cards, or while sat waiting for a bus somewhere cool. And when I'm on a job, I'm hardworking and fast learning and get on great with pretty much any customer.

Where I am available for work and when

Available for work - Travelling - not available